a wave of metalwork is coming…

I’m on my way to Tucson soon for the last Seed Bead Summit before the publication of the upcoming Pattern Book for the Contemporary Geometric Beadwork project. In the last few months, I’ve been gathering material, illustrations, ideas and examples into a glittering pile, and we’re ready for the final push to the press.

I’ve decided to make some metal components to go with the beadwork (this is always a desire of mine, and I rarely take time to fulfill it) and while I am doing that, I am going to make another series of rings and chains. YES. RINGS AND CHAINS. I just have a few categories up in the Shop now, but as I’m sure of what I am making, I will add more.

sculptural-s-hook1

joined fine silver chain

Some of the rings are going to be skyscraper and Dali Summerhome rings, and some meditation bowls, and those are the ones that cost the most to make, so I’m taking orders for those. I’ll make 24 skyscrapers and 24 meditation bowls. Would you like one? If so, please order it now, or send me an email asking me to reserve one for you.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For the chains, I’ll do a variety; sculpted, invisibly cut and joined, fused, forged… I’ll have a variety to choose from. What they will all have in common is pure fine silver, no solder, and a hand-forged clasp. I think I’ll make a dozen… there might be more, but I can’t promise –  if you want a chain, please let me know now.

Screen Shot 2016-04-14 at 11.24.44 AM

sculpted chain

I appreciate your support of these pieces, as their sale will fund the exploration of the new clasps and connection elements that will accompany the Pattern Book to the press. I can’t wait to show my new ideas for closures and morphing captures.

Goldberg Skyscrapers, fine silver, Kate McKinnon

To see piles of photos of metalwork I’ve made, just Google “Kate McKinnon Chains” (or substitute rings, metal, clasps or beads for the word “chains”). I’m going to make a little of everything, and especially toggle bars. I miss my toggle bars, don’t you? No one seems to do them quite like me.

And yes, of course there will be earrings. How could there not be?
Delivery May 15 for all the metal.
hugs! and thanks for your support.

SHOP LINK

Dapped earrings by kate mckinnon, fine silver, 2010

meditation bowl earrings

excellent fine silver and sterling earrings, kate mckinnon 2010

pinned bowl earrings

 

8 thoughts on “a wave of metalwork is coming…

  1. Ha!!!! I got all excited and then realized I had 2 out of the 3 pair of earrings featured! So, of course, I will be haunting the web store….

    • Oh yes, these are simply examples of earrings past. The sale of the Tower Rings and the Meditation Bowls and such will fund a wave of new work… I can’t WAIT TO SEE WHAT I MAKE!

  2. Hey Kate. Long time no speak:) I just thought I’d let you know that by combining equal amounts of PMC3 and Sterling clay you can fire for 1 hour at 1500 with no carbon….straight on the shelf just like good old PMC. I’m sure you know this, but I figured I’d bring it up just in case. Much stronger item now than even banged up PMC3, but working properties just the same. Just a thought. Have a great day!!!

  3. Hi, Kate – a friend passed along your fabulous work to me. Was wondering if ANYONE is still making your Ball End Clasp for beaded bracelets? That, and the Ram’s Horn Clasp would work REALLY well on something I am finishing up (I don’t know why I never heard of these before now), but it seems I am about ten years too late…any suggestions? Thanks for your help!

Comments are closed.