what a ride

I’ve just unstrapped from the latest rocket, and will get on the next one tomorrow. Or the next day. Even I don’t know. And it doesn’t matter unless it does.

Carl Jung and I are fond of a Lewis Carroll bit that seems to sum it all up well enough:

“The rule is, jam to-morrow and jam yesterday, but never jam today.”
“It MUST come sometimes to ‘jam today,'” Alice objected.
“No, it can’t,” said the Queen. “It’s jam every OTHER day: today isn’t any OTHER day, you know.”
“I don’t understand you,” said Alice. “It’s dreadfully confusing!”
“That’s the effect of living backwards,” the Queen said kindly:
“it always makes one a little giddy at first.”
“Living backwards!” Alice repeated in great astonishment. “I never heard of such a thing!”
“But there’s one great advantage in it, that one’s memory works both ways,” said the Queen.
“I’m sure MINE only works one way,” Alice remarked. “I can’t remember things before they happen.”

“It’s a poor sort of memory that only works backwards,” the Queen remarked.

And yet my memory mostly only works backwards. So I really have no idea what’s going to happen next, I simply try to be prepared as best as I can be. I do better than many at smelling elements from what we like to call the Future. Ah, the elusive Future, always somehow ahead of us, wherever that is.

I am stunned like a fish by the many revelations I have had following the Seed Bead Summit. I am sorting out some kind of big thoughts and will be back ongrid tomorrow, I suspect. Lots to show and tell.

I love you. Good luck out there. Pleas dig some fiber work from Dustin Wedekind, who appears to be on deck for Contemporary Geometric Beadwork, Volume III, which is pretty fantastic.

Dustin fiber by Sam Norgard

Those of you who are waiting for me to do something immediate (and thankfully those are not many), either I am On It or I have forgotten (it’s been a crazy couple of weeks). If you don’t hear from me by tomorrow, please toggle me.

Thank you to all of those of you in my massive web who somehow felt what was happening here with the birth of new ideas and the addition of Kate Stern to the mix here at the Ranch and the forward progress with the book (all very positive stuff) and found ways to contact me. What a waterfall, a lightstorm of connection we are all having right now.

In a last bit of news, I’d like to extend a warm-hearted welcome to the mighty Kim Van Antwerp, who is taking the position of masterminding the CGB Pattern Shop, soon to explode onto the scene with a rather amazing set of Things. She is going to be the best thing for the project since the Elegant Guide Round.

This is one of Kim’s own pieces.Kim van A web copy

And this is a photo I found in my email; Bryan Ferry walking to an airplane with some adorable fuzzy ducks following him. I admit, I would probably follow him too, and attempt to board his craft. And by probably, I mean definitely.

Ferry and ducks

m

Oh, also, look what science did.