what a splendid satellite we have

Lucky us.

I watched first from the garden bed (rough I know) and then from an orange metal garden chair in the middle of our street. I was the only one out to see it, which I found disappointing, but I enjoyed it for them.

At one point (I had to keep moving westward in my chair) I was sitting in front of my neighbor Marie’s security sign, and I looked like their personal security detail, the kind you do NOT want to mess with, the kind in a kimono in the street that will talk to you at 5 am.

19709_10204161598784256_6118863155203929735_n

photo Robin Douglas, from a cold mountainside in Utah

A guy down the street did come outside, but not with lunar intentions. He was just going to work at dawn on a Saturday morning and had no idea that there was an eclipse happening. When I saw him, excited to see another person, I said, pointing at the western sky, “Look at the MOON!”

He looked up and said “I don’t see it”, which I thought was brilliant because it wasn’t there; he had stepped outside at the moment of totality.

I said, “eclipse” and he saw the disc, was blown away, said to me, gently, “thank you”, and that he would have that with him now on his drive to work.

And as I watched the last of it, I felt him driving and seeing the Moon as if for the first time, watching as the light slowly poured over her crown, glowing golden.

dawn eclipse

Things are getting very intricate here very quickly; which means it’s important to keep them simple.

I am exercising time and space, pushing my spheres open further each day, then trying to keep them expanded as I breathe them back into uncomplicated order, leaving a new perimeter; a dampness that will be easy to cross again in favorable conditions.

Lots of people are getting involved with lots of things I’m working on; all at once, it seems, everything is happening. I don’t mind, quite the contrary, I relish it. I feel confident that I can retain both my independence and my privacy now, no matter who I am working with.

For me at least, the quality of freedom really seems to be all about the money I take in life, and who it came from and what it was traded for.

On my vita, I should write, “proud holder of zero patents!”

Kate laying out Kellner, by Kyle Cassidy. Altered in Photoshop by Kate.

Kate and Kellner, MIT Chapel, photo by Kyle Cassidy
(photoshopped for extra fun by Kate)

2 thoughts on “what a splendid satellite we have

  1. I would have been right there with you! Did it look as beautiful to you as the picture.
    This is going to show my age, but when I was in college in good ole Mobile, Alabama, no “roll tide” from me, I’m the daughter of a ND Domer!), I sat up all night in the TV room waiting for news as to the fate of Apollo XIII astronauts, “Houston we have a problem” and it didn’t involved Tom Hanks, but three very brave men and an amazing control center who actually brought them home safely. I couldn’t believe I was the only one horrified as to their possible fate…but I wasn’t wearing a kimono!
    They made it back,that’s all that counts!
    Thanks for the picture!

    Marianne

Comments are closed.