on the move

The pipes having been finished up, I am once again on the move. Now, St. Louis, soon, Boston. It’s the same as ever to be in the Midwest in March ahead of Spring; in a few weeks, it will be beautiful, leaves and flowers are this close, but for now it’s still dull, and currently grey and cold.

I saw the movie Turner before I left Tucson (which is bursting with hot springtime) and it was incredible, I was much marked by it.

Timothy Spall did an astonishing job; the animalistic grunts and growls were perfect, but so also were the beautiful manners. Considering how deeply the interruptions of life affected him, how much he wanted to work, the depiction of the totality of his character was sensitive, kind, nuanced.

One of the things the film conveyed was how true to life the magnificence of his scapes were. He didn’t paint idealized beauty, instead, he went and found the real thing. Seascapes, landscapes, humanscapes….he went out and found the hugeness of the world.

Watching, I felt enraged (the tedious interruptions, I also wanted to kick the stool across the room) and empowered (to hell with blowhards and soul-crushers) and even more in love with the people with vision and will.

So many people seem to lack that pulsing, living drive to make work. They probably just need to be in a different place, doing a different thing, and they would suddenly come alive. Or so I charitably believe, based on my own experiences of being in vibrant, alive places with good light and good air and dull, stodgy, pale places with thin light and thick air. I pulse in the former, go dull in the latter. It’s not a mystery. And it’s tedious to pretend that it is.

A huge takeaway from the film (and from life) for me is that people who do not burn with life force and productivity should not proselytize to people who do about how they might better spend their time, or how they might adapt to a trickle of life, instead of a rushing stream.

I got lucky in my life partner.

4 thoughts on “on the move

  1. Or you can burn with desire to create and your body, hands, won’t allow. Very hard to twitch to create and then hold still…
    You are very fortunate in so many ways. And thank you for introducing me to Community Acupuncture. Improvements continue!

  2. I saw some of Turner’s work “up close and personal” at the National Gallery in London. It was amazing how much he could put into that small area of canvas— a vast sky and all that light and SPACE. And the story was there as well… the “focal” people and objects… but to me it felt like I was looking through a little window into a vast, beautiful world all around. Wow. Those and Stubbs’ “Whistlejacket” (a personal favorite) were better, for me, and more impressive, than Leonardo and all the other etc.s except maybe Cannaletto who also captured light and space so well.

Comments are closed.