whoa!

Thanks to a tip from Judith, in the comments, I walked down the street today with Ryan, Evan and Bri to see the glittering spherical map of the world, circa 1935, that is on display in the Mary Baker Eddy library at the home of the Christian Science Monitor.

Whoa.

the-mapparium-is-a-world
Courtesy of The Mary Baker Eddy Library, Boston, MA

I wish I could give a photo credit for this image, which is probably some sort of construction (the sphere is surrounded by solid walls and is backlit) but it is insanely well done.  I’ll hunt again for proper credit when I’m fresher in the morning.

I was moved by the work, and while the structure of the sphere comes through perfectly in the image above, the detail of the map cannot.  I love the decision to leave the map as a period piece, a work of art, rather than to try to keep constantly updating it with the results of the latest territory disputes.

The entire complex is peaceful; a respite from the busy world flowing all around it. It was a gorgeous moment out of Time.

Here is another image, showing more detail.

more-than-10-million
Courtesy of The Mary Baker Eddy Library, Boston, MA

3 thoughts on “whoa!

Comments are closed.