Hour Of Power

I’ve only been waiting my entire life for this moment.

This was just after I turned it on, and we were still getting power from the grid, but we’d begun to make our first kilowatt Hour Of Power.

SOLAR BITCHES!

Thanks, Elon Musk / Solar City, for making it happen for free. Anyone in a qualifying area, what are you waiting for? My bill is cut in half, and I’m no longer sucking coal to keep the lights on; instead, I’m contributing.

Mind/blown.

See if the free program is available in your area:   www.solarcity.com

Feel free to put me down as your referral!  I’ll send you half.

It’s rather incredible; after a person refers five people, Elon will pay $500 per referral. That’s off the hook. What he’s doing, of course, is recruiting salespeople that he only has to pay when they deliver. Referrals aren’t paid until systems go online. It’s smart, in fact it’s smarter than smart. I think I’m up to three people now… so hey. Keep it moving forward. Then, if you do the same, and give half of your own referrals to the people you tell, wow. A forward-moving chain of goodwill and clean power.

Cooper House Solar Array

This is a great model for the future, and I’m rather sure that it would get an unreserved high-five from Buckminster-Fuller. Of course, he’d have recommendations, but the business model… perfect for the times, which are politically flaccid. Elon is sidestepping the muck and just making direct connections; the sun to the people. It’s rather amazing, like the Internet. And people are like, ho-hum.

If you are in the Southwestern US, please see if you can do this. Just hook your own bad self up to the sun, and skip the mindless bureaucracy.

Look: two hours after we switched it on, we are making more than we can eat, even with the pool pump and the AC and the wood shop and the house all chundering away. The arrow is pointing in the other direction, and it’s just an ordinary summer’s day. It’s as if nothing happened, really, but actually, everything just changed.

delivering

 

 

 

17 thoughts on “Hour Of Power

  1. This is the MOST EXCELLENT of things! My neighbor just went solar & he said his meter just keeps spinning backwards! It is extremely exciting! My Hubbie & I are looking forward to solar power in the hopefully, not too distant future. If I can get into a free program it will happen sooner. I am looking into it & will use you as a reference.

  2. Oh POOPY! They say it is not in my area yet–Sequim, WA, on the Olympic Peninsula. My neighbor says he spent many thousands on his arrangement. It is a HUGE & GLORIOUS thing that sits in the field between our houses. Apparently some Sequimite officials had a bug up their nether region about anyone putting these panels on their roofs. Some people have done it anyway. I will do it whenever I can get my “hoobie” on board. He is a bit slow to come around to the reality of it all.

    • Well, it’s a very different experience if one must pony up- personally, I have never wanted to own solar panels; that is a losing bet for me. I see them as already obsolete. Solar City is welcome to own them; my roof is their roof.

  3. Kate, We have a perfect roof pointed due south but Michael has always been worried about what happens if the roof itself is in need of replacement or repair. Did they discuss that with you??

    • This is Elon Musk we are dealing with here. Everyone wins.
      If you need to do anything whatever- repair, new construction, whim, just call them. They come remove the panels and reinstall them for you, at a very reasonable price (I forget the exact cost- $250? $500?) Essentially just the cost of the crew.

      They take full responsibility for the panels. Another cool thing is that if anyone defaults on the lease (ours is 20 years) there is no lien against the home, or the person. They simply come and take their panels away, no drama. This is a lifesaver clause for people who worry about not being able to sell a home because of a defaulted lease.

  4. that would be my question: is the lease transferrable to the next homeowner. I may only be in this house for another 4 or 5 years max. I’ll check them out. They are available in our area, but I’ve not seen them. Thank you for posting this valuable info! In my case I’m sucking nukes.

    • Yes! it Is, at the same price and service! And if a person dies or defaults, there is no lien, they just come and pick up the panels. Every day you could use solar instead of nuclear power! I am so pleased to get off the coal. Phx has a nuclear plant, but Tucson burns coal.

  5. Not here in Grand Rapids, Mich either, but I’m lovin’ that meters are running backwards in the SW! I’ve been wanting to move there for awhile!

  6. I will be checking this out next week. I would love to be off the grid and of course, Lemon Grove is quite sunny!
    Thanks for the link I will tell them you referred me.

Comments are closed.