flowers everywhere

It’s another relentlessly beautiful day in the desert. The assorted cacti are putting on their flowers. Some people say the bloom is early this year (especially the saguaros) but I can’t speak to that.

Cactus flowers 4

I’m listening to a lot of music lately. Full records are so nice for thinking. I find I can sort of track the time I am spending on things by how many albums go by. How much TIME the work is taking to pin down is astonishing. I don’t resent it, it’s really well-spent. But I am dazed by the sheer number of hours…I thought I would be completely finished by now, but as with the first book, the ideas are bigger than the pages, and they have to fit. It’s like making a reduction sauce, drawing conclusions, or compressing mathematics; it pays to take care.

All I can do is breathe, and keep going. And be grateful, because the work is good, people are patient (but only because they know the work is good) and I feel that I’m working at potential.

Those last seven words don’t really jump off of the page, I know, but for me, there is a universe of feeling behind them.

Cactus flowers 3

The season change, from winter into spring, is good timing for my work.

When it’s summer, I remember more fully who I am. Mental lizards and psychological bears, they stretch and wake somewhere deep inside me, and wander out, blinking. Suddenly I have more facts, a longer perspective.

Cactus flower 1

Some things feel natural right now. Some definitely don’t.

Each day into the warm season sharpens my awareness and my capability; as happens every time winter is shaken off, kicked aside like a leather shackle I finally chewed off of my leg.

I feel like a person who has been taken off of a drug. The days are longer; this changes everything.

Sunflowers

So into another beautiful day I slide, mostly willing, in front of this giant pile of work. Rewards will include a play with Bri, and dinner downtown.

And of course, it goes without saying, A SWIM. The water was 66F yesterday afternoon. Cold, still, but the warmest yet.

66 F

My friend Patty sent me a hilarious article from Buzzfeed on the situation with Tim Lincecum, who is fighting the hot with all his might. I agree with the whole white panel van situation… this is disturbing. I can’t EVEN COPE with the concept (much less the photographic evidence of) Bryan Ferry’s mustache, which he had for about five minutes several decades ago. This is a similar situation.

“Timmy, why’d you have to go and make things so complicated?”

Screen Shot 2014-04-13 at 7.25.43 AM

Excerpt:

SAB: …. This mustache might as well be a face tattoo of him giving the finger to anyone even thinking about writing something moving about his season. This is the mustache of a guy who wants people to look away from his face and pay attention to someone else while he gets his groove back away from the spotlight. I don’t know if it will actually work, but I respect the IDGAFness of the whole thing.

LA: Maybe that theory is why I hate it. I have written my fair share of sappy blog posts about Timmy and what his career means to ME. I shelled out the money for good seats for what we thought would be his last start as a Giant. Our fan base is very emotionally invested in Timmy, who has never been one to pitch with a poker face. I should probably throw in a personal disclaimer and admit that my “type” is very much long-haired, lanky dudes, so I feel personally slighted by his deviation from his classic look.

 

5 thoughts on “flowers everywhere

  1. The book will be more than worth waiting for, and the flowers are gorgeous as are you. But I need cold like you require heat, so as you’re smoothing out, I’m becoming cantankerous. We go directly from furnace at 62 degrees to AC at 70 degrees. So enjoy your summer and know that I, for one, don’t mind waiting for the book I know will be stellar!

  2. That is a huge smile when you’re in the pool–water woman!!! I especially appreciate the photos of the cacti blooms, they are so beautiful & I rarely get to see them! Thanks for the introduction to the precious metals paint also!

  3. I had no idea that the desert had that much beauty in it. That variety of blooms would just knock me over. Oooie, masses and masses of petals, benign and wicked Lucky YOU!

  4. Those cactus flowers are dreamy. I had a whole bunch of that second type of cactus in pots which never showed its true colors. It was as punchy as fuck when it came time for handling though and thus was used as protection around the base of a standard crab apple. I know that feeling of being uplifted, as it is currently happening to me (YAY!). Glad you are riding the wave of this creative surge. I imagine the finishing of this book will be just the beginning.

Comments are closed.