balancing

I’ve been having an enjoyable time here, despite the fact that it seems to be winter still/again, with thin light from behind a wall of cloud and a frigid little wind. Whatever. Boys, love, cats, it’s so nice.

The Dread Pirate Jasper is made of love. And table scraps.

Jasper and Kirk in the sun

I took a few pictures before I left Tucson last week. The Carolina Jessamine was in full bloom, the pool was up into the 60s, and the weather was nice and warm. Soon, I’ll be swimming, and my muscles can’t wait.

Jessamine at pool

I spent a small space of time tonight looking at the ephemeral sculptures of Michael Grab. He found rock balancing, or perhaps it found him. I liked what he said about the process.

Some point balances will give the illusion of weightlessness as the rocks look to be barely touching. Parallel to the physical element of finding tripods, the most fundamental non-physical element is harder to explain through words. In a nutshell, I am referring to meditation, or finding a zero point or silence within yourself. Some balances can apply significant pressure on your mind and your patience. The challenge is overcoming any doubt that may arise.

Michael Grab of Gravity Glue

My friend, Diana Cannon, who is very good herself at overcoming doubt, took this photo at one of the Mardi Gras parades in New Orleans. I have a strong love of little carts and carriages.

DIana Cannon Mardi Gras 2014