Rampaging

Astonishingly, I’m in St. Louis. I had to work for it this time, attempting a variety of conveyances. It’s not too cold here- still all brown sticks but the sun is shining, and the cats are frolicking. Astonishing progress is being made on all fronts, personal and professional. Affairs, they march.

It’s amazing to see Bill. I love being in love… I like it that we tendril around each other in time.

I’ve been away in Tucson for almost a month (escaping winter, having guests, shipping CGB Calendars and telling knock-knock jokes to sleeping lizards) and I have come home to find that Evan is now doing the crystal-growing experiment for Mr. Becker’s chemistry class, the third of our three to be spastically protecting a couple of plastic cups with delicately layered fluid.

As this year’s experiments roll by, I feel maudlin, thinking of time, and how quickly it passes through us.

Evan Crystal

It feels right to take things up a notch this Fall and all camp out in Boston. That world is still a dream, yet to be built, but the mechanics of the situation roll forward; Bill’s sabbatical was approved. The boys are unsure; it’s a disruption. They have friends. They have routines.

I hope it will be as much fun for them as I think it will be. Ideally I want them to know more about what life choices feel like to live before they actually have to make any big ones. There isn’t any way to describe the East Coast, you simply have to go be there. We can ride trains and walk across bridges and go to talks and see films and operas and symphonies and spend weekends in New York, and Philadelphia, and prowl around the East Coast; I want to take them to Montreal and to Niagara Falls and I’d love to see freaking Vermont.

We can have Carter fly us through the Universe on Spaceship Hayden, Uncle George take us on a tour of Corning Glass. We can have fancy dress parties, and photoshoots, and I can show Liam what the lives of all kinds of working artists are like, I can show Evan how different MIT feels from Harvard.

chihuahuas

Also, I feel that you should know that according to a possibly over-reactive article, Chihuahuas are rampaging on the loose in an Arizona neighborhood and have “infested” Maryvale, a section of Phoenix. If anything can make it as an infestation, it would be Chihuahuas. They are clever, resourceful, and have very sharp teeth and a huge fan base.

In completely unrelated news, Oliver Thompson has a new video out.

He was working on this one when I stopped by his London flat for a photoshoot and the beginning of an interview, and I got to hear some of it live. I’m definitely a fan.

12 thoughts on “Rampaging

    • In many years of having and working with dogs (training, showing, racing, etc.) the worst bite I EVER got was from a Chihuahua. My Salukis look upon them as hors d’oeuvres …. I refrain, generally from expressing an opinion. Some are lovely, some are downright nasty, most are not too bad… but too many are being produced and folks forget they are DOGS, not arm candy… I prefer to bead my arm candy. And I would not have to feed it, either.

      • As a military family we spent a year in Japan when I was 12, in seventh grade. BEST experience of my life, looking back. Taught me so much. My brother was 10 and the two of us had full run of the major city of Kyoto, not speaking more than a few words and phrases… think about THAT! Long time ago…. we knew at the time how fortunate we were, and how deprived our former schoolmates were back Stateside… and many decades later I still have a great fondness and respect for the Japanese artistic sense. Not to mention the exquisite gardens…

        As Alice says, they really will appreciate it and it won’t be far off into the future. Your enthusiasm and sense will make it a fun adventure for all of you. Get a set of colored pencils and a couple more sketchbooks too… and the idea of journals is wonderful.

          • Yes we were excited, but a lot of that was because we were going to be joining my dad who was stationed there— and my mom was always ready for an adventure, so that made it all work. She really did have an adventure, taking herself, 4 kids aged from 12 years to 15 months, and the household including the CAR! for 13 months in a totally foreign culture [she quickly learned to drive on the left side of the road!]. Our American high school was 81 students from 7th to 12th grades… of course everyone knew everyone. We had a great basketball team! Once a week we had lessons in Japanese archery (seated); tea ceremony; or flower arranging. The teacher spoke no English but his daughter did so we got by. We traveled all around the region to visit temples, shrines, and a couple of palaces [to which access was rare, gained by my mom’s membership in a ladies’ bi-cultural group] and I can still, after over half a century, re-visit so many in my mind’s eye. My brother went back many times on airline business, but I never have. Of course many things have changed but I’d still recognize so much. Beautiful country and lovely people.

            Again, the enthusiasm of my parents and the recognition of ancient and historic places, and the friendly people made it all work— and it should do so for you and the boys, since you are certainly an adventurous soul and convey your enthusiasm so well.

            Funny thought just crossed my mind– when we came back, to the same schools and schoolmates, we were sometimes scoffed at for not being up with the latest popular-culture music or style or whatever –didn’t take long to get back “up to speed,” but I certainly had an advantage in that I got to give slide shows of our trip and none of the other kids had ever flown as far as Hawaii, much less on to Wake Island and then Tokyo! [We returned via ship, another adventure!]. So we got our revenge, sort of.

            Yes I suppose I am adventure-loving, but it came from growing up in a family that was able to take advantage of a rare opportunity and treat it as an opportunity, not a drudgery. And I’m still always up for a trip, whether by car, RV, or jumbo jet.

            Gosh, you really made me bring back a lot of great memories. Thanks, dear Kate.

Comments are closed.