seen / unseen

The Tucson skies have been gorgeous. Yesterday morning, I saw Venus and Pluto, riding high in the Southern sky. Or rather I saw Venus (upper right, white dot) and simply knew about Pluto.

Pluto and Venus

How did I know? The magic of the Star Walk App on my phone. It tells me everything, it shows me what I cannot see with my human eyes.

I waved at Pluto, and of course at our adorable little robot on the way. I like knowing in general where the other planets are; there is something about the big picture that helps me orient myself.

It’s like having mirrors. I have a lot of mirrors (especially compared to some) but not because I’m particularly vain. They help me remember my location, my character and my mission.

If I don’t see my reflection in a mirror, I will gradually forget myself as an individual… this would be good if I were the Buddha but not so useful if I need to remember my responsibilities. I could modify the classic Dali quote to read, “Every morning when I awake I need to be reminded that I am Kate McKinnon.”

. . .

This is a bottle I bought from Beau Barrett, at the Best Bead Show. Beau and his wife named their son Atom. I would have made a big deal of this at the time, but I thought they said “Adam”, so I just said, “Hi, Adam”, and that was that.

Beau Barrett bottle 2014 bead show

Naturally I regret not naming any of my children Atom.

I’ve been haunting the southern honeysuckle, the one beyond the wall that Orangelina lurks in, but I haven’t seen her yet. I told her a knock-knock joke this afternoon, assuming that she could hear me as she dozed under the little foot-bridge, or wherever she is.

“Knock-knock”
“Who’s there?”
“Orange!”
“Orange who?”
“Orange you glad it’s Spring?”

But she did not emerge, blinking. She’s the last one to rise each day anyway, so I’m not sure why I expect her to be the first lizard out of the gate in February.

Orangelina Under the Bridge

A previous sighting; Orangelina enjoys lurking beneath the foot-bridge to the outdoor shower.

6 thoughts on “seen / unseen

  1. What a gorgeous bottle from Beau Barrett, the father of Atom. I’m hoping that Atom was born a few decades after 1965 so he hasn’t had to suffer evil taunting from the mouths of his co-hort: “Atom Ant! Atom Ant!”

Comments are closed.