summer skirt weather

How lovely to be warm again. It’s gorgeous here in Tucson right now and that’s a fact.

1510854_10152203423684328_887971496_n

I’m hoping that the lovely weather holds through the Gem Show, the party, the photoshoots. Weather is exciting but outdoor parties are the best parties, and dry shows are the best shows.

It’s great to be back in the photo zone as well. I do all of my photography here in Tucson, at the same spot, in a white photo tent in natural light. Here are a few samples I’ve been working on for the new section for CGB Volume I and the upcoming Free Pattern Library.

These are simple Zigged Bands, tied up as flowers.

Kateflowers 2 web

Kateflowers 1 web

These are the same two flowers in both photos, and each shot shows opposite sides/orientations.

You may know that I’m a Mac user. I am just exactly old enough to remember the Dawn Of Personal Computing, the 100MB hard drive, the floppy disc. I was 21 in this year, 1984, and Steve Jobs was 29.  I got a glimpse of computer cards and mainframes, and then was in the world of personal computing, and that was that. I’ve been a Mac user since 1991. Long time.

image33

I was astonished to watch this presentation and see Mac Paint (the precursor of the entire Adobe Creative Suite) demonstrated for the first time. Copying and pasting between documents, actual FONTS instead of daisy-wheel driven typefaces. Steve’s answers to questions ask him to predict the future: “Will there ever be a Mac with more than 256K RAM?”

Screen Shot 2014-01-26 at 5.27.53 AM

People who use Windows on PCs these days may not be aware of the role that these visionaries played.  Just the concept of providing an architecture and encouraging other developers to write for it was revolutionary. It turned things upside down and sideways, and the concept formed my professional mindset and continues to drive my work to this day.

I cried a little bit at 1:18:22, when Steve Jobs looked at the eight people flanking him, and said,

“Remember when you use a Macintosh, these are the people that did it. And they are sort of … hiding out in that ROM.”

I really feel that.

Screen Shot 2014-01-26 at 7.02.58 AM

When this guy describes the upcoming schedule, I am RIGHT THERE, in 1984, signing up on a paper slip for a Usegroup, thrilling to the Revolution.

17 thoughts on “summer skirt weather

  1. I had one of the first IBM PCs. It ran with two floppy disks and had very little to no memory. This and lotus 123 and a wide carriage dot matrix printer was $10,000. I made $9,600 a year at the time. My husband did not speak to me for weeks! ☺️️

  2. I worked for Zenith Data Systems in 1982 when Windows was introduced – I started selling Apple IIs in 1980. The graphic interface was borrowed from Xerox Corporation by both companies. Xerox wasn’t really interested in personal computers. Microsoft wanted open architecture and Apple wanted to control both the hardware and software. Different philosophies – both have done pretty well for themselves.

      • Computer users evolved from those who loved to tinker with stuff – sort of like Woz to those who developed stuff that would actually do something. The first time I saw this was with spread sheets and word processing, The first tablets were developed back in the 80s by windows. The world wasn’t ready for them. Theatre took on CPU control for lights, curtains, and sound. There were a lot of hobbyists playing around. I developed some of the first local area networks used in state, city and large businesses. They were requested by renegades that wanted to take control from mainframes. It was a bit like the old west. I really enjoyed it. Now I use a computer to design using CAD, write and run my business.

  3. Hi Kate. I so agree. i was 27 in 1984 and had been using Apple 2s before the Mac came out. And before that at Uni, I had shares in the main frame IBM 370 at Cambridge University in 1975 using tickertape and cards to enter programmes! I have used Macs since 1984. There is no better personal computer. XXX Carole

  4. Atari did it before Mac… that user-friendly interface using the mouse and the pointer… and all the machines had an integrated modem far before we talked about the internet. Used by military services… I’ve worked on a Mac like this back in 1991 / 1992 too, and loved it. Now I think that Linus Torvalds is the real genius with his open source Linux technology. In 1996 and in 2003 the asteroids ‘Torvalds’ (9793) and ‘Linux’ (9885) were named in his honor: because the Linux source code has been made ​​available since its inception, it was used by different measurement systems, detection and analysis of asteroids.

    • Sorry but Atari was a game platform, not a computer. And yeah, I’m an Apple nerd. Bought one of the very first ones off the assembly line and have never looked back. I’ve used everything from mainframes (decks of do-it-yourself punchcards, eeeek) to minicomputers to no-name “desk” tops to IBM desktops, various windoze machines etc. and you can have my Mac when you can pry it from my cold, dead fingers.

      Somewhere around 1976 my DH showed me a brief note in Time magazine about these two entrepreneurs out in California who had started their own computer company. Right then and there I knew that someday I would own one of their machines. :)

      We saw the one of the first Macintoshes at an electronics expo in Billings and I couldn’t pry DH away from it long enough for ME to get to play. We had had the //e for a year or so and I remember being SO disappointed we hadn’t waited. As it was we really couldn’t even afford the //e. We paid $2,000 (remember this was early 1980’s dollars) for a green on black screen that was about 11″, 64K RAM (yes, K, not MB or GB), two floppy drives (the 5.25″ variety that held, what?, about 256k) and VisiCalc and whatever Apple was calling Appleworks back then. Another $2000 went for the daisy wheel impact printer. So pardon me when I laugh when anyone complains that computers are so expensive. That $4,000 would be about $12,000 in today’s money.

      ANYway. If you haven’t seen “Pirates of Silicon Valley” I highly recommend it. :)

  5. I took computers in high school (83-87) on a Radio Shack TRS80. We had a TI99 at home (with a cassette tape drive) and I remember getting the magazines that had the game programs in them, and I’d read the code to my mom while she typed and we’d do that for a couple of hours and then watch a ball bounce around the screen – that is what got me into programming. It was so much fun, and I am always amazed at how far the technology has come so fast.

  6. I, too, started with the trash80 and cassette recorder and fiddling with the volume control to load the damn software. NO memory. 1981 came and so did the IBM PC. I jumped ship immediately and my new best friend was Lotus 123. But in 1984 that Mac was IT. I have used both since then. But now I cling to my MacBook Pro now. It has outlasted TWO Dell laptops and made my hubs a believer. His next will be a Mac. LOVE all that Steve has wrought (and am shocked that we’ve been doing this for 30+ years)!!!

Comments are closed.