mirror images

I’ve been working away on my set of tasks for the next couple of weeks. I’m a bit overwhelmed if I try to think about everything at once, so I’m just thinking about them one at a time. Sometimes I think about the book layout. Sometimes about meeting Bryan Ferry. Sometimes about eating food in Barcelona with Doriot. Sometimes about the remaining photography and return of beadwork. Or interviewing Andre Broessel. Or the many decisions I have to make before our next press run. Of the Dali museum. The Casa Battlo. The Sagrada Familia. My tax paperwork.

beautiful bryan ferry

Stupidly, though, I’m also filling my head with ideas that don’t need me, ideas that are unchanged by my attention. Mirror-images, for example. Every thought, action, force and particle has a mirror-twin; sometimes we can see them and sometimes we can’t. The thing and the mirror-thing together make a whole, which is why any idea, force or system can be seen as a complete shape. I only rattle on like this because now I can see the shapes, and I’m excited, and I can’t stop thinking about the implications. What is the mirror-twin of chaos? I can’t comprehend that, so I look at smaller things, hind parts.

(Remember the crazy story of the Ten Commandments from the book of Exodus, in the Bible? My favorite part as a child was the showy, carnival-like pillar of cloud that would be outside Moses’s tent flap when God was chatting with him (why wouldn’t God go inside the tent, I wanted to know, if he could be a harmless pillar of cloud?) The cloud business was especially incongruous when contrasted with the information, just a few paragraphs away, that God would only let Moses see his “hind parts” up on the hill, because otherwise, Moses’s brain would explode, or his face would melt off. Why not just stay a pillar of cloud, if anyone can look at that and be fine?)

400px-LaPedreraParabola

Photo of Casa Mila (or Pedrero if you like) by Error, on Wikicommons

I’m particularly struck by Gaudi, and his catenary arches, and the hanging chain that gave him the shape. It’s a powerful concept, that the form the chain naturally wants to take while hanging is also the form it will do best at when inverted and cast in the play of life as a load-bearing element. The implications of this are simply stunning. It might mean that many/most/all favored resting forms or attitudes should have their other halves explored. And that we should examine the resting halves of other strength forms, to see if they make sense. To see how the shapes of the whole differ; some shapes are obviously better/more interesting/more well balanced than other shapes.

These are not thoughts that need my attention, in fact they are none of my business, and have likely all already been done.

4 thoughts on “mirror images

Comments are closed.