Our jewel-like planet

Thanks, International Space Station!

Terra from the ISS

Guess what? Great news! Orangelina is expecting again. I didn’t want to mention it until I was sure, but when I saw her run across the yard this morning all doubt was erased.

More lizards are never wrong!

This will surprise Bill, but I’m oddly excited about the royal baby, which will probably come before our lizards.

I’m not much of a fan of the concept of royalty, but for someone who has to operate from within that world, Prince William strikes me as a standup guy. He serves in the military (as does Harry) and flies for the RAF Search & Rescue team, which is no easy assignment. I like this- anyone who is in line for command should understand what service means. He wants to live simply, he’s expecting a child with a nice, straightforward girl and they want to raise their baby themselves, in an apartment, not a palace. I like them in the way I like the new Pope- I’m not sure about the overall concept of the institutions, but I really like these players in the roles.

There is a lot to be said for people who are cast into circumstances of great privilege but bring simplicity and humility to the job.

prince-william-and-catherine-middleton-image-1-469145187

6 thoughts on “Our jewel-like planet

    • 2-12 eggs per clutch, I am told. I’m not sure what accounts for such a spread- individual fecundity or age of lizard. Orangelina had a huge number of eggs last summer; you could almost count them by looking at her by the time she laid. This is the third time I’ve seen her pregnant- she had a clutch in spring but it was so small I didn’t know she was expecting until it was over, and she was suddenly a bit smaller.

      http://www.reptilesofaz.org/Lizards-Subpages/h-s-magister.html

  1. Teeth – unfortunately you can’t get this sort of treatment on the National Health, our wages don’t stretch this far!
    Your lizard is gorgeous Kate.

Comments are closed.