One of these birds

One of these birds is not like the others…. yes! A Cooper’s Hawk, on the umbrella just outside my bedroom window, scoping out the All You Can Eat Finch, Dove and Sparrow Bar.

One of these birds is not like the other

The window decals are to keep the songbirds from trying to crash the party indoors.

I’ve come to a bit of a realization about Alexander, who sired so many fine lizards on Orangelina last year; another man has displaced him.

This new guy is long and large and gloriously tough, and he’s taken up residence under the wood-pile by the Barbie Coach. As I thought back on the moment Alexander tried to force his way into my bedroom, I realized that it was about the same time I started seeing the other male around and about the B40.

Orangelina, object of desire:

Orangelina in love

I feel terrible for Alexander, who with his short tail can’t really win any serious lizard-measuring territory battles.(They actually do this, they stand next to each other and see who’s longer.)

I’m not quick to assume that he’s been displaced by one of his own sons; Desert Spinies take a few years to reach sexual maturity, and I really don’t know how long Alexander’s been in the game. The yard is stuffed with his children, though, this I know. I’m seeing them in various stages of growth, scampering here and there, staking out bushes and lurks.

I’m excited about the hawks! Any day now, there ought to be four or five of them clowning around back here.

8 thoughts on “One of these birds

  1. Whatever happened to the Big Bulge on Orangelina?
    I have lots of blue-bellied lizards, and every few weeks my barn cats leave me an offering… though I was really impressed when the Sasquatch cat (because of his big feet, he’s a polydactyl Maine Coon who took up residence in my feed shed) brought me the remains of a ground squirrel. Ground squirrels are all over the place here and the local hawks and coyotes keep them in check…

    • Well, it shrunk, the bulge, and now it’s still there, but very small. It really looks to me (not that I know jack shit about anything) like an egg that got loose and is being re-absorbed. This is possibly patently ridiculous, but it will suffice as a description of her appearance. She is very frisky and engaged with her world, she seems healthy and her offspring are, to a lizard, handsome and beautiful and perfect in scale and toe. They are everywhere! I’ve built a very lizard-friendly yard. Lots of places to hide.

      • Your lizards are a lot bigger and tougher looking than our little slick ones. Yes, it’s possible an egg got resorbed… have seen it in horses… (the fetus) just shrinks, and sometimes they mummify. She’s very self confident as well, must be her lizzy-friendly digs as well as her spiky skin.

        • Oh, sure it can happen, but I’m just not sure if it could happen on her side/back. And yup these are some serious lizards. about 6-7″ long, really badass. Fierce bites, but no teeth, just jawbones clamping down.

Comments are closed.