busy summer

I’ve got a lot to do in the next few months, no doubt about it.

Pink sky

I’m moving from occupying the whole Ranch to having a small three-room apartment at the end; this will be very nice, and much more manageable for the next couple of years, but it’s also real work to get smaller. It makes me wish I’d been smart enough to never get bigger.

I have to decide about things.

I’m going through all of my books and magazines, and making up a couple of boxes to share. Same with everything left in my studio; I have relics from everything I’ve ever done, and while it’s fun to have a whole room full of art supplies, I’m not sure it’s pertinent anymore. I have an entire bin full of black velvet jewelry displays.  I can’t imagine doing a show again.

Everything I’m doing now seems to be about sorting through my stuff, my preconceptions, my life experience, my heart, my head. It’s unexpectedly intense.

I had two strong feelings last night, working on Jack Wisdom’s entry to the Love Letters introductions.

One: Jack Wisdom speaking to me about his work is like me having a meeting with the birds in the yard to talk about the connection between nectar and diabetes.

His motivation for spending time with me is as obscure as mine in reasoning with a finch. Yet… we must each get something out of it. The sum of that value will have to be a calculation made later; I have a feeling that the time and interest given to me by the suite of extraordinary people in my life may yet bear fruit than none of us can predict. Nothing else makes sense; nature is thrifty with motion, as is Jack.

Two: If I connect the dots of my life, they make a picture, and I won’t get to see what it is until I finish the work. Do you remember the puzzles that used to be in the paper, or our schoolbooks, where we would solve math problems, and the answer to each problem would be a single number that would correspond to a point in a grid? As you solved each problem, you drew another straight line between the point you just solved and the previous one.

The lines, if you got all of the problems right, formed a picture. An elephant, a fishing shack.

A lifetime.

I can see many different ways of connecting things up; but in this case, each problem is fluid; I’m going to need a lot of backs of envelopes, or shirt cardboards, or a roll of paper towels to write on.

6 thoughts on “busy summer

  1. I hear you on the stuff issue. I have been taking over a few books at a time to the local book store. They have been taking some of the beading books but not the “real” jewelry books with all the soldering etc. I have yet to figure out where to take those. Alan Revere books, etc. Hardly ever used. I donated my enamels to the local art center. I may do that with the rest of my tools as well. It is just too much stuff to have. I live in 975 square feet. I will keep my art books but the rest has got to go. I am finding books are tough to get rid of. Keep me posted on how it goes. Perhaps you will figure out a better way……..

  2. you sound like you are your wrapping up your life………………………….. I must confess the other day it occured to me, When I die there will be many beads left over, hum and what would my husband do with them. Maybe, just maybe, one can have too many beads…..

    • Yes, it’s what I’m doing. Intense!

      I have actually been contacted by widowers, asking me, “OMG, all of these beads and beading supplies, what should I do with it all, is it valuable, how should I handle it?”

  3. I have a plan for two people younger then me to inherit my beads. They don’t know it yet, but I’m happy with that plan, they will go to someone who knows what to do with them. Unless I need or think to smallerize and have to decide what to do with them prior someone inheriting them.

    • That’s a lovely thing to do. My plan is pretty simple; I have a list of about 25 people for whoever handles my Situation to get in touch with; I’d like those people to be allowed to take what they want (after my kids have had first dibs on stuff of course) and then I’d like the rest of my art stuff and books donated to public school art teachers or libraries. (I’ve got a few picked out.) The rest… well… may it find its own level.

Comments are closed.