It’s pouring rain

So exciting!

Second Rainstorm

What a treat, to be enjoying storms as early as June 30th. 

I spent the day beading, a much better use of my time than contemplating the tidal action of human beings. I’ve worked a bit more on my Zig-Wing, which is a really nice little piece that’s half Rick-Rack and half Winged, built on an MRAW band. So delightfully architectural.

There is more to come; I may as well show as many of the possibilities of this form as I can in one progression. But it’s lovely as is; it’s a project from Contemporary Geometric Beadwork, Volume II.

Kate McKinnon, ZigWing, CGB Volume II, 2013

Also, I admit I don’t know much about Marina Abramovic, but I loved this story.

From Zen Garage,

“Marina Abramovic and Ulay started an intense love story in the 70s, performing art out of the van they lived in. When they felt the relationship had run its course, they decided to walk the Great Wall of China, each from one end, meeting for one last big hug in the middle and never seeing each other again.

At her 2010 MoMa retrospective Marina performed ‘The Artist Is Present’ as part of the show, where she shared a minute of silence with each stranger who sat in front of her. Ulay arrived without her knowing and this is what happened.”