It’s a Ray Bradbury sort of day

I’m working on a pile of unrelated things today- the layout for Volume II of Contemporary Geometric Beadwork (we have a press date of December 15th, excitingly) and the outlines for the accompanying pattern book (for one of the regular publishers) and the interview questions for the article portion of the Love Letters project (one of my editors wants advance questions for one of our permission requests).

In the spaces, today will be a Ray Bradbury day. I know most of his stories by heart, but I know them with a child’s heart. I am reading back through them and looking for the places where information was hiding; where the answers may have been in plain view but I didn’t have enough life experience to find them. It’s like anything; you pick up what you have a frame of reference to file.

Things that don’t fit, we skip, or we hang onto as questions. Ray had a lot of questions.

Bradbury, photo by Lennox McLendon, used as cover of "Ray Bradbury: Classic Storytellers, by Michele Griskey
photo by Lennox McLendon, used as cover of “Ray Bradbury: Classic Storytellers, by Michele Griskey

It’s also a Bryan Ferry sort of day.

I heard from his manager this morning, who was unaware that I was doing this book. I consider this a positive development, as it gives me an opportunity to speak directly to him.

As you likely know if you are a regular here, I’ve spend quite some time now studying the Ferry catalogue. It’s been most enjoyable. And of course Joyce Rooks and I became quite engaged in the Beck connection as we began to look for the Roxy and Ferry samples and noteplay in Beck’s work. We found them in sufficient number to begin a list, and that started another list, of songs that we could cover in a very stark, elemental way, songs that would be, in a sense, a conversation with the composers.

At some point, the only way to speak about music is through music.

It’s like switching to French to speak of love.

7 thoughts on “It’s a Ray Bradbury sort of day

  1. Don’t miss Green Shadows, White Whale, Kate. He didn’t write it until 1992, so you might have missed it. And it’s gorgeous. :)

  2. Can you tell us more about the Pattern Book and will you be doing a preorder on this book. Thanks

    • This will be a book done specifically for a publisher (I’m working that out right now) so it will be out of my hands- I’ll certainly help market and sell it, but I won’t be producing it, only the content. But thank you for asking!

  3. Great idea to go back and read Ray Bradbury. I think I will do that. As a young person reading his books, I think I just accepted what he wrote as what it was and I didn’t question it, kind of like a new word that you come across while you are reading as a young person, sometimes you look up the meaning of the word, sometimes you guess what it might mean, sometimes you just go on reading.

    I soak up everything I can about Beck. I don’t know what the connection is with him and Mr. Ferry though. I missed that. Lucky you, you get to work with Joyce.

    • There are a LOT of Roxy samples or bits in Beck’s work, intentional, I’m sure. I found enough to begin a list. I have no idea if Ferry has ever listened to Beck, but I’m quite sure Beck has listened to Ferry. Joyce Rooks is intrigued by them as well. You probably know that while Joyce is classically trained, she’s also been a punk rocker, a goth, and an experimental music maker. And those are just a few of her musical personae.

      I’m also AGOG to speak to David Robertson; so many musical questions.

Comments are closed.