soft warm summer sunday

Another Sunday of complete and utter freedom. I raise my fist in the air, No One Commands Me.

I swim a fierce session, I leap up and kick at the rubber monster on the bouncy stick on top of my refrigerator, but annoyingly I only hit the Outhouse calendar, a little over five feet up. I swear to practice harder, maybe start karate, yoga, tai chi, kickboxing. I am slipping if I can’t hit the monster anymore. Afraid to fall.

When did I stop leaving the ground when I kicked up?

Stargazing in the back yard

I had better luck last night photographing the garden lights than the moon, but you get the idea. It was fantastic. Actually, I kind of like this shot because it reminds me of the Roxy Music For Your Pleasure album cover.

Screen Shot 2013-06-23 at 12.20.56 PM

(Click above to see just the enlarged photo of the moon reflected in the pool.)

There is something about the way my brain maps information that looks just like this. It’s like seeing these photos together gives me one more forensic lockpick to my own mind; some of the information is stored in shapes, and if I don’t look correctly, I can’t see it. It reminds me of hiding information in a beam of light; there are many ways of looking.

I’ve had more and more wonderful news on the Love Letters front.

I heard from Hal Levison, another one of the glittery scienceminds I am interviewing, and am shocked to the core to hear from him that he contemplates the same problems that I do, and apparently has a lot to say about them. And Alan Stern, one of the Overlords (some call him The Chairman) and someone I very much like, has agreed to participate as well. He will be critical to the process, my Brian Eno.

Humourously in one of the endless interviews where Bryan Ferry was asked about the influence of Brian Eno on the early Roxy Music, he said, “My God, he was ESSENTIAL. He had a reel-to-reel tape recorder. Until we met him, we had no way to record what we were doing.” I about died laughing, because so many moments went into that moment. The interviewer nodded, and moved on to the next question.

The more I look, the more I see, the less I know. One interesting thing is that I’ve known or been involved with (or followed, in the case of Ferry) almost everyone I am speaking to for the book for more than 20 years. This strikes me as meaningful.

It’s a beautiful day here, breezy and warm and sparkling.  I have high hopes for all moments today, including the moonrise. I decided to make tonight the night I would go chase Luna; watch her come over the mountains, rise over the city. I’m thinking about where I will go… I have a little idea. Bill might be able to guess.

Summer sunset is as beautiful as summer sunrise; the sky is a deep blue, the shadows are on the ground.

Summer sunset solstice birdies