Fun with boys

Three of us went over to the Laumeier Sculpture Park today. Evan was patient with his eccentric parents.

Evans Eccentric Parents

 

The eyeball is more reflective than you might think, and the pupil reflects the sky. But only really in a camera. You have to photograph the piece before you see the whole of what it can do.

I think that’s excellent.

the closer you look the less you see

The plan was to see the exhibit that they have up on the various St. Louis/New Orleans connections, but sadly it’s Monday, and the museum is closed. So we prowled the grounds instead, seeing favorite older pieces and discovering some new installations.

They have a series of ephemeral / temporary pieces up as part of a series called “Camp Out: Finding Home in an Unstable World. This tent is supposed to remind one of a womb, but we thought it was also a lot like a pear.

Egg Pear Tent Situation

You could climb up inside it.

Bill and Evan in the Pear Tent

 

But when you came out you might be a zombie.

Zombie Situation

 

Bill has a fondness for the big black egg. Who wouldn’t? The maquette of the sculpture (the little model of it on the sign that explains it) is cracking; we want to know what is going to hatch out of it. I think there will be a fortune inside, not offspring. Or maybe a smaller black egg.

It sort of looks like Bill is having an idea. The egg, you know, like the lightbulb in a cartoon.

Bill and the Egg

 

This was another one of the Finding Home series, a beautiful stack of furniture in a rollaway dumpster, one in a series by Oliver Bishop-Young.

Evan calls it “OCD Lumberjack”.

OCD Lumberjack

5 thoughts on “Fun with boys

  1. I always loved that eyeball sculpture & it’s reflective pupil! I also think that “OCD Lumberjack” is a better title for Youngs’ sculpture.

  2. I had my car fixed on the other side of the Twin Cities and stopped at Bobby Beads in Mlps. They are carrying very few books, but I left a note for Bobby and suggested that they look you up on the internet to see how wonderful Volume I is. I asked that they let me know how they proceed and showed the very helpful sales person a picture of my Cheesecake, “Just Dessert” (3rd place in Sculpture) which was made of beads purchased at Bobby Beads. Do I get points for the number of stores and Societies that I inform? xxxoooo

Comments are closed.