Johannes Guuutenberg

Liam’s been drawing for school, but not just for art class. His history teacher, Mr. Evans, lets him draw historical figures for extra credit in class. It’s been great. I went over to school today to meet him (Mr. Evans that is) and photograph the stuff on the classroom wall for Liam’s portfolio.

Liam McKinnon 2012, Genghis Khan

I very much liked his Genghis Khan (above), and his South African nobleman (below). I mean, obviously not that I endorse anything that either of them stood for. I die for Genghis’s hat, of course. I just know that plume is red, even if it isn’t.

I love the way that Liam draws, it’s just who he is. He never had to think about drawing, he just did it. I’d love to have that gift but I didn’t get it in my bag. Bill did, but he rarely uses it. Maybe he’s keeping it for later.

Liam McKinnon 2013, Afrikaaner nobleman

Here is a detail of Cortez:

detail of portrait of Cortez the Killer by Liam McKinnon 2012

We’re getting together a portfolio for him (a Tumblr of course) and it’s fun, taking the photos.

The way Mr. Evans pronounces Johannes Gutenberg (with a thick and hearty German accent) has become the only way to pronounce him, and Bill even managed to work Gutenberg into his Solar System class by mentioning that the invention of the printing press revolutionized science, because suddenly scholars could own a library of scholarly works, and new work could be more easily distributed.

He said it just like Mr. Evans. Guuutenberg.

Happily Liam has him next year as well. Mr. Evans, that is.

8 thoughts on “Johannes Guuutenberg

  1. Liam is really good! I’ve always wished I could draw and possibly, if I put my mind to it and a lot of hours of practice, I could. But I’d rather work in 3-D…like Geometric Beadwork! Stay tuned for Sea Dragon 3…I’m just putting the finishing touches on it!

  2. Kate, I love your son’s artwork! How I love to see young people really exploring a natural talent! Please, please, PLEASE don’t dump on Ghengis Khan…if you read ‘The Secret History of the Mongols’ you will find out he was not a horrid murderer, as some in the West portray him. I did a graduate thesis on the Mongols of the 12th century and later, so I have read a lot of the history – he was quite forward-looking leader and promoted religious tolerance! I also belong to the Mongol American Cultural Association and we honor him with a beautiful ceremony every year. I could go on and on, but suffice.

    • I’m not a huge fan of conquerors. Liam says, “he was an important culture broker, but of course that is balanced with his prowess as a captain of slaughter…”

      Personally, I don’t think I’ll be celebrating Genghis Khan Day anymore than Cortez’s birthday or the Christian Crusades. I’ve always failed to grasp why slaughtering people anywhere was a legitimate claim to anything. Land, moral high ground, religious superiority… it’s all abhorrent to me. Of course I am down on pirates and Napoleons in general. I don’t celebrate Columbus Day, or Thanksgiving. The only conquerors I have a weakness for are Lawrence and Allenby, and I’m conflicted about them as well.

      From the handy GK Wiki entry:
      Historians regard the Mongol raids and invasions as some of the deadliest conflicts in human history up through that period. Brian Landers has offered that, “One empire in particular exceeded any that had gone before, and crossed from Asia into Europe in an orgy of violence and destruction. The Mongols brought terror to Europe on a scale not seen again until the twentieth century.”[1] Diana Lary contends that the Mongol invasions induced population displacement “on a scale never seen before,” particularly in Central Asia and eastern Europe.

  3. He’s good Kate. Really good. Side topic: I finally had time to just sit and enjoy your book today. The time was all about paging through and inhaling all the eye candy. The pieces, photography, and artwork are fantastic. I didn’t take the time to go step by step through the written instructions—I’m saving that for another day. But today, I was completely immersed in the color. Pages 90 and 134. Huge love.

Comments are closed.