Related viewing

The idea of fans or customers acting as publisher for art, writing, or music is an unusual (but a good) one.

Amanda Palmer gave a Ted Talk yesterday about the concept of asking people to support work, or work in process, and how this idea can be threatening or seem like some sort of a scam, or how people who aren’t even involved in the process can get ugly about it. We really ought to be able to get past that.

Click the photo to go to the Ted page, and hear the talk.

Screen shot 2013-03-02 at 9.25.55 AM

5 thoughts on “Related viewing

  1. She is wonderful and wise as are you. You both have the same kind of fierce fearlessness that I have to work hard to bring up especially as it pertains to the interwebs. I’m like that band member who feels like it’s begging to ask. I continue to work on releasing the fear.
    x

    • It’s only hard when people get mean. It’s always difficult for me to puzzle out what is to be gained by complaining, when I’m so willing to issue refunds for any reason, at any time, no questions asked. I don’t mind giving refunds in the slightest, but I do deeply mind people who are unpleasant or mean about how long any particular project takes.

      There have been a few really notable examples during the course of this project, people who just said the most extraordinary things on Facebook. Of course, most people were wonderful, and got involved, and made things- that part was incredibly fun and rewarding, and was what really made the book both unusual and extra-special.

  2. I was impressed with AFP’s ability to connect so deeply that I could feel it through a video posted on the web. It reminded me of a man with whom I used to work. To hear how heartfelt his “thank you” was, you’d think that you had given him the greatest gift in the world. And then it dawned on me. Maybe, doing something worthy of a “thank you” really is the greatest gift in that moment, no matter what it is.

Comments are closed.