so much

Fortuneteller bangles are starting to come in. Have a look at one of the ten thousand possible views of this one. It was beaded by Julie Glasser, from Christina Vandervlist’s basic pattern, and I love love love the way it came out. In this view, the horns are turned inward for a closer fit.

I can’t wait to show all of these ideas… there is just so much.

photo by Kate, IP4S

I like this shot because it shows an unexpected, cathedral-like view of the peaks, and also because it shows the aspect I can’t get away from, which is the sheer potential of the RAW band, sitting out there like a fully functional girder system at the edge of a roof. Why is it there, if not for further building? Yet most of our Fortunetellers stop at that row. Perhaps because the pattern did.

Me, I see a row just waiting for more. Embellishment, more structure… or, alternatively, I see a Zigged Band that can be removed if desired. If this is all the structure a person wants, then the band can be zipped off if it’s installed as a support, instead of as an integrated start.

I am writing about all of this now. And “my brain hurts like a warehouse.”

This excellent Bowie line was lately uttered by the lovely and talented Trillian Stars; it’s been running around in my head for weeks. Trillian is an actress (and she is also married to Kyle Cassidy, btw) and she was at that moment in two complex productions; two complete sets of dialogue to memorize and keep apart. Consummate professional that she is, she did it beautifully. But I think it hurt like really high heels. Bowie:

I heard telephones, opera house, favourite melodies
I saw boys, toys electric irons and T.V.’s
My brain hurt like a warehouse
It had no room to spare
I had to cram so many things 
To store everything in there

I feel like that right now. I work about 8 hours a day on the book, you know, actually moving things in the layout, writing captions, words. I think about the book constantly; I try, in my spare time, to defeat dragons breathing literally at the gate; I fear Mitt Romney and the Bush Team behind him more than I can tell you. I am so fond of our planet, and so deeply against war… I do not long for anything resembling “End Times.”

I want peace, and clean air, and fresh water, and green power, and I want everyone to go home and be nice to each other and get busy cleaning up the place. I want to ride trains, and build libraries, and play in healthy canyons, and rivers, and forests, I want to bring back small farming as a viable way of life. I want to educate everyone, provide non-profit health care for all. I want improbable things that may never happen.

So, sword in one hand, pen in the other, I am 100% On Duty and I have been for several months now.

It’s exhausting, Don Quixote-style exhausting, because none of it can ever be done to fruition or fulfilled to potential. There is always more to do.

I have a lot to say, only some of it useful. I’ve been taking in data for almost half a century. Some of it has bounced off of my somewhat smooth brain as if it had never been seen; there are concepts I am incapable of assimilating.

The implications of my places in time, for example, if time is not linear. There is no integrating that information without a lot of pretending on one side or the other. I fill in the boxes of my calendar and arrive on time for appointments, because I believe in the concept of civilised society, but I always wonder why people don’t take better advantage of the STRUCTURE. If time is not linear, that is amazing. And that knowledge gives you a whole set of options that would not otherwise exist.

On all fronts of my life, I’ve been thinking about cheating, and the terrible lusts some people have for power and fame. This stunningly beautiful article about the cheating of Lance Armstrong, titled Winning In An Age Of Liars, was written by VeloDramatic. I commented on it on Daily Kos, but I’ll just leave it here in case you want to read it too.

I have so much to think about.

Please forgive me for anything that I’m not thinking about.

15 thoughts on “so much

  1. Obama will be elected, stop worrying about Mitt. Think about yourself too… and I too want a beautiful clean planet, and many others do, so there is a good chance it will happen. Congrats to Julie for this AMAZING beauty… I fell off my chair :)

    • Cath, sadly the American people elected George Bush for a second term, even after they knew he lied us into an illegal, unwarranted invasion of Iraq. Over a million dead, three countries brought to their knees. And the religious right voted him in for a second term. Don’t relax until Mitt calls Obama to concede. I surely can’t.

      I will think about the awesomeness of Fortuneteller Bangles instead, but… I have to keep fighting.

      • yes, I know… and yes, the Fortuneteller bangles are heavenly distractive, even better: they just make me feel happy. Hurray for you and all the folks beading together on this wonderful project.

  2. Omg! Each piece is a wonder! I truly cannot wait to hold both your and Jean Power’s book in my hands, carressing them, loving them. I’ll need to block out a few days just for that. Then I shall start beading ;)

  3. Thank you for the David Bowie song lyric, and for the picture. I adore your Mr. Ferry and your commentary on him always reminds me of how I think of David Bowie. Play Heroes full blast 3 times (or 20) and you will feel empowered enough to run the universe (well, ok , just your own personal universe). Have a great day Kate. You are awesome.

    • Oh, thank you, Linda.

      I do use that version of Heroes like Lance Armstrong used blood bags for doping, and hilariously, my dose is also three plays. More if desperate.

      I love this version over all others because of how happy Bowie is, laughing happy.

  4. That fortune teller bangle is terrific……..I’ve got other stuff I need to be doing but just want to bead, looking at these pictures!

    • Yes! I am trying not to insert myself unduly… but when people think they are done then I prod them to add more. I am absurd.

      PS: “creative disobedience,” may I quote you?

      • It’s fine with me, but it was the title of a very serious book by the feminist theologian, Dorotee Solle, about the terrible consequences of blind obedience. However, my personal lexicon on risk-taking and successful mistakes is informed by Einstein, Piaget, and a Frenchman named Abadie in the Auch region who rustles the best coq vierge in Gascony.
        “One should not pursue goals that are easily achieved. One must develop an instinct for what one can just barely achieve through one’s greatest efforts.” —Albert Einstein
        “The principle goal of education is to create [people] who are capable of doing new things, not simply of repeating what other generations have done – [people] who are creative, inventive and discoverers” –Jean Piaget
        “To paraphrase Einstein,” Abadie went on, “innovation is disobedience that succeeds.” [I found Abadie in an NYTimes article titled “Farm Fraiche”.]
        Whew!

Comments are closed.