Ahh. Paris, night 3

I’m feeling ready for a giant raspberry macaron in the courtyard, a trip to an outdoor market for cheeses, figs, and wine, a first foray (one of several, I hope) to the Gerhard Richter exhibit at the Louvre, a visit to the Marches de Puces, a nap, and an elegant evening visit to La Saint-Chappelle to hear a chamber orchestra perform Vivaldi’s Four Seasons. Happily that is our actual agenda for tomorrow. Can you stand it?

The timing is perfect for the music, as fall has just arrived in Paris and it’s time to dance summer out onto the lawn and kiss it goodbye. The evenings here are now in the 40s, 50s, and the days are crisp. Look, you can see in my garret treehouse skylight, two fallen leaves!

We do in fact have a courtyard, which is quite a thing in Paris. Here is Doriot, standing in it, locking our door, looking like a rockstar.

We went to the Louvre today, but just to get our museum passes and scope out the lay of the land.

We discovered this excellent sculpture by Belgian artist Wim Delvoye at the entrance; it looks as if someone made a tall model with parts from assorted gothic churches and cathedrals, and then pulled it through a drawplate to make it into a long cigar. Click the link for a close-up photo.

The Palais Royal Metro stop outside the Louvre is adorned with giant glass balls; it was on Joyce’s list to see it. Imagine our surprise to simply look up and find ourselves in front of it today!

I want to find the Man Walking Through Wall in the same way again this time, as I always do, to just look over into the garden, and see him.

There were more confections in that window. Look at the adorable little Religieuse figures  just to the right of the incredible green-covered figs. And the divided puffs next to them, with one piece of dark and one of white chocolate, that one is titled “Divorce.” It made me think of Heidi Klum and Seal.

I would go to sleep, to rest up for the awesome tomorrow, but there is a party in the courtyard, and laughter and talk is filtering up; it makes me miss my lovely and civilised husband, and wish that he were coming too, tomorrow, night, to walk into the beautiful space of Sainte-Chappelle, and hear the music. Bill and I have never been to Paris together… but  it won’t be long now before we find ourselves kissing on bridges, eating in cafes, going to the Opera…

or maybe catching Motorhead. I’ve always wanted to meet Lemmy. Why not?

By the way, bead kits are on the way. Everyone in the US should have them by Wednesday, but please wait until Friday to let me know if yours hasn’t arrived.

3 thoughts on “Ahh. Paris, night 3

  1. I am wishing I were in Paris right now, eating a macaron or even a macaroon! I love those, too. I love going to St. Chappelle when it is sunny to bask in the red and blue lights!

    I trust you mean next week’s Wednesday for the bead kits… I can hardly wait!

  2. I am incredibly jealous…the food, the art, the city, everything…and Anthrax. What more can a girl ask for?! ;)

Comments are closed.