back in Tucson, bustling about

I got up quite early this morning, because why not? I’m back home in Tucson.

Rising for the dawn in the desert excites me; it’s almost always nice outside, and I love to watch the birds wake up and the sun come over the Rincon Mountains.  I walked out into the yard at 4:30, and Venus was blazing in the Eastern sky (reminding me as she always does of a 747 coming in to land) with Jupiter above her; Orion, beloved Orion, was dancing off to the South, his arrow aiming as ever at Taurus the Bull. I miss seeing them during summer, and always forget (why?) that all I have to do to see other versions of the sky is to look in the early morning hours.

The Starwalk app on the IP is a delightful companion; I can add to my modest store of facts as space in my head allows, and, wonder of wonders, I can see through the Earth, so that I know where the planets of my solar system are all of the time.  This helps me understand in a visceral way how they move, the complex steps of their dance. There is no other way for a person like me to assimilate this information; one must point, and say, “there”.

I came home to a suite of things, many of them excellent. There were three boxes on the table- Sarah Stoddard and Rayo Boursier sent their Caldera Bangles to me for photography, and they are each delightful and each completely different. Rayo’s is silky; this is partly the hand of the maker, partly the sleekness of shiny round beads. Sarah’s tension is a little stronger, so her Caldera stands to attention, ready for its closeup, while Rayo’s lounges against he bar like Bryan Ferry; holding form beautifully, but obviously loose-hipped. I stare at them, I roll them in my hand. I wonder what threads they used, and where their joins are. Did they knot, or weave? They are each so beautiful, and excitingly each fits me perfectly, each one is perfectly made.

I can’t wait to shoot them today.

The privilege of holding people’s beadwork like this is one of the most magnificent things about being one of the com hubs for the book. Lord.


beadwork and photo Jodie Marshall

Also on the table was a box from Jodie Marshall, containing not only the triangle necklace that everyone freaked out on when I posted it on the book Facebook page, but two bracelets to break your heart. Her combination of handmade glass and beadwork has been the single most popular post on the entire history of the page; obviously this is an idea that has wide appeal.

Jean and I are in some stress today, as we are delivering our Perlen Poesie articles, deadlines loom, I am in the thick of the video negotiations, Jean is about to head to Germany to teach, and giant boxes of beads and beadwork are maundering through UK Customs… it’s really always something. One must adapt, but it can be challenging to keep calm when things like boxes of a life’s work are on some goddamned government sorting table somewhere, with inadequate tracking.

We got along with British customs better before Duh and Tony Blair; this is just an unemotionally stated fact of life. The back and forth punishments meted out on everyday commerce have hit the little guy hard.

4 thoughts on “back in Tucson, bustling about

Comments are closed.