Employee of the Month, again?

It’s Saturday, and softly overcast, cool, and sleepy. It feels like rain. I missed both 11:11:11:11:11:11’s yesterday, one by getting distracted writing, and the other by falling asleep. I don’t know if anything magical clicked into place. All I can tell you is that I feel exactly the same. Peaceful, happy, and also like kicking someone in the shins. The usual. I’m spending the day working, taking pictures, putting things in the Shop. There are several cases of nifty purple gift boxes in there now, perfect for taking to shows.

I read a firsthand account this morning of riot police turned onto peaceful student protesters at UC Berkeley, and I thought, damn. Are they going to replay Kent State?  I’m so sick of the police state mentality, of TSA, of extraordinary rendition, of the Orwellian and ineffective Homeland Security, sick of a growing Hydra of authority that deprives us of our basic rights as citizens. Here is a report from the Mercury News.

I hope it doesn’t actually take having another handful of our children gunned down to get the universities to see that they are batshit crazy to use force like this. (If you click on the link, it’s pretty busy, and the space in the middle for the video might show as blank. Scroll down past the blank space to see the full entry.)

This just makes me just shake my head. How do you get to be a University Chancellor and have zero grip on modern (or human) history?

You can write him here, if you feel so inclined.

Chancellor Birgeneau on campus    Office of the Chancellor, 200 California Hall # 1500, 
    University of California, Berkeley, CA 94720-1500
    Phone (510) 642-7464

chancellor@berkeley.edu