beads and games and cats with fangs

I always forget how crazed it is to hook my train to the Beavis and Butthead Experience that is two teenaged boys. My sides hurt from laughing and I am disorganized and behind schedule.

Evan and I played games; I won at chess and lost humiliatingly at Connect 4. I love to lose, assuming I lost to a superior player, and not because I was suffering from dementia. Losing means I’m playing a badass, which is ideal by any measure. Both of the boys kill at Connect 4; at Monopoly, Scrabble, and chess I reign supreme. I dream of the day I become close to someone who can slaughter me on the chess board. Bria can beat me at Scrabble, at least. It’s awesome to have to really work for a win against her. My mother and she and I used to have fierce pitched battles, with scores sometimes reaching the 400s. Good times.

St. Louis friends and beaders: I am getting a group together to go to The Bead Place in Fairview Heights, Illinois on Friday night. We are meeting up down by Wash U and carpooling Across The River and to Grandmother’s House for their free Bead Party Night, or whatever they call it. Peyote stitch is on the menu, and I’m bringing triangles. If you would like to join us, please email me. We’ll be home by 10:30, and it will be lots of fun.

It was stunningly hot today; the Midwest is in another “heat bubble;” I think we hit 102 today. I succeeded in mostly staying inside, but I did make it to the Farmer’s Market, and to ferry the boys back and forth to swim camp.

Many of the large, lovely weeds in the garden are gone (well, not really gone, but hacked down, which is half the battle) because the yard guys just spontaneously showed up. Maybe their ears were burning. Now the Round Up comes in; I must slay the plants I lovingly tended, because they are eating the house down. And so it goes.

10 thoughts on “beads and games and cats with fangs

  1. If it weren’t for the 825 miles, I’d be at The Bead Place. Instead I blogged about it – even at 5:30 AM, I’m excited to tell my beady friends about the opportunity. I’m loving each new piece for Geometrics as I see it previewed. Bead on!

    • Isn’t that sweet! I wish you could come. Dustin and I plan to tour the country with the book, teaching projects and giving talks, so I’m sure we will come your way on an Official Visit of beady love.

      I’m going this Friday just as a random beader, and to check out the store. I don’t enjoy going to Ladybug beads, which is here in St. Louis- it’s lit like an operating room, not very friendly. The Bead Place is a half hour away on a busy highway, which isn’t ideal, but hey. If it’s a warm and friendly place, I’ll be quite happy to find it. Going with a group from StL sounds like a lot of fun, we can sing camp songs in the car. Metaphorically, you know.

      And if we felt like it, we could go see the Giant Ketchup Bottle in Collinsville, one of my favorite local landmarks. It’s tremendous.

  2. Ok, when you come to Chicago or when I’m in Tucson (never mind–I’ve never even been to Arizona), how about a game of Scrabble? Telling you now, my specialty is seven-letter words for the 50-point bonus. Several in one game, if possible.

    • That’s always nice, the 50 point bonus! I like a lot of tight nooking, small words working the double and triple letter squares, big point tiles multiplied by both points and being used in two directions. Personally, I loathe the Scrabble dictionary (so cheesy, to be able to play words that aren’t words, like “cee” for the letter “C.” I don’t do that. We play out of a real dictionary. And we also like to play with 12 tiles, and go upside down and backwards, with blanks wild after play. I can play seven tiles, too, I just refuse to accept the official Scrabble dictionary. Only real words for me. So I can’t play online, and it’s hard to find partners.

  3. Upside-down and backwards? That’s trippy. Sounds fun, but I’m having a hard time getting my head around 12 tiles. Yes, a real dictionary, and for God’s sake, no timers. Black coffee and snacks. Nuts, in fact. In crinkly bags. With rubber bands so the nuts don’t get stale. And water, in water bottles, to chase the nuts.

    Mmmm.

    • I am flexible on number of tiles. You would think at first think that more tiles = easier, but I think of it as simply extending the challenge to encompass a true vocabulary. Often with seven tiles, people get hung up on memorizing the relatively small number of things that work within that framework. Each tile added opens more and more language, so the field is broader, and it’s harder to use all tiles. Ten is really good too.

  4. I imagine that more tiles also reduces the chances of the most-dreaded all-vowel rack, what my mom and I called The Hawaiian: A O O U U I A

    • We did make a rule that if a person with 12 tiles ended up with 10 vowels, the can place their word anywhere on the board, even not connected to anything.

Comments are closed.