Hey!

Admittedly I am short on perspective; this isn’t so much a last-minute deadline as much as it has been a solid year and a half of exciting work with three weeks in Paris stuck in like a flower in a buttonhole. The time right now is part of a three month final push to finish up what has been a mindbendingly huge and ambitious project.

It is with that lack of perspective that I must admit that I have zero interest in any corrective criticism on the font on my title page. Fact: it is fucking gorgeous! I have instructed the fleas of a thousand camels to infest the armpits of any person who takes time out of their day to be grumpy about my work, which I am vastly enjoying and close to finishing.

. . .

The other night, Christina and I were swatching, and talking colourways, and happily she whipped up a pair of earrings. They went directly into my ears and then *bang* on the header of the Triangles chapter. They were just what I was waiting for, something snaky to play off of Lia Melia’s fantastic tiny Power Puff.

 

The book is 6 x 9, which might not be obvious to those who don’t know. Spiral bound. Easy to fold in half and fit on a plane or train table.  I love small books. Small and fat.

15 thoughts on “Hey!

  1. So happy that you continue to be holey! I’ve been meaning to ask about that–’cause if you weren’t I was going to suggest that you forfeit those lovely bow and arrow earrings and insist that I have them for my very own.
    Are you sure you don’t want any unsolicited but helpful, well thought and well meant advice on the choice of your font? No? Not even a little? Hey, I think my armpits are itchy…no, that’s just my camel hair sweater.
    You’re absolutely correct–it is fucking gorgeous. AWESOME! <3

  2. But Kate, our opinions are so important. Are you sure you don’t want our advice now that you’ve done all the work ? Little Red Hen and all. ; P . I am inspired and amazed by this project.

  3. As a longtime architypist, I no longer amazed when people just have to express their type biases. I restrain myself quite often, but I have a captive student audience that I get to vent my type preferences to.

  4. I love the idea that it is spiral bound. That makes it so nice to put on a display just for a few days, like a painting or a photography, and change another day! much better then a calendar to look at!

  5. I wish your tendency towards spiral bound books was the norm in the world of jewelry “how to” and project publications (or ANY “how to” publication, for that matter). This simple design mechanism makes learning a new skill vastly easier. What a pain in the rear it is to have to find some heavy object to hold open your book while you try to carry on with your project .. and don’t even think of trying to prop it up on a book stand so you’ve got more work space, how will you hold it open then?? And if the thing is so tightly bound you’re at risk of breaking the binding, then you must relent and just keep it close by .. running back and finding the all important page when you need it. Yep, it’s a small thing to include a spiral binding .. but it’s enormous in its overall benefit to the end user/reader. Love the big picture, but thanks for the little things.

    • The reason that they can’t/don’t/won’t isn’t because they don’t know it’s better.

      It is a problem for them because it costs more (a LOT more) and also because the spine does not show on a bookstore shelf.

      Both of those are dealbreakers for mass marketers. Which I am not!

Leave a comment?

